Reading FTW

I failed at my 2012 reading goal – great start, just didn’t make it. It is therefore with great pride that I tell you: I crushed it this year.

70/45 books read in 2013. Check it out.

1-6
1-6

One of my favorite things in 2011 was the book club that I participated in – until that book club fell apart and I moved abroad…so in late 2012 I started another one. We had quite the year.

1. World War Z / Max Brooks: I’m surprised by how much I liked this zombie book
2. Batgirl Vol. 1 / Gail Simone: ❤
3. The Crimson Petal & the White / Michel Faber: Great for discussion as long as you don’t go with the reader’s guide questions (“Describe how Faber exemplifies & perfects postmodern literature”)
4. Minor Characters / Joyce Johnson: Making me proud of my choice to not read the Beats
5. Terrier / Tamora Pierce: I’ll never look at pigeons the same way again
6. How to be a Woman / Caitlin Moran: Excellent for people who don’t think they’re feminists (*spoiler alert*: you probably are)

7-12
7-12

7, 9, 11, & 12 are all in that same book club as well. I also participate in a few Goodreads (and other) book groups – 8 was for Reader with a Cause and 10 was for a DC-lady-friends book club.

7. Tracks / Louise Erdrich: Fleur is my hero
8. The Cuckoo’s Calling / Robert Galbraith (JK Rowling): I really liked it, but I think I would have liked it more if Strike had been a wizard
9. The Beekeeper’s Apprentice / Laurie R. King: Sherlock gets a new friend (and a visit to Palestine!)
10. Ash / Malinda Lo: Yay!! A fairy tale reinterpretation that isn’t just a bland retelling!!
11. Blackout / Connie Willis: I always love her (beware: it’s part one of two)
12. Leviathan / Scott Westerfeld: “Lady boffin” sounds like Tortallian slang

4
13-18

Comics happened this year. I got an iPad and one of the things I did with it was investigate the world of comics. #win

I started with superhero-y stuff…

13. Wonder Woman, Vol. 1 / Brian Azzarello: meh
14. Birds of Prey, Vol. 5 / Gail Simone: LOVED Batgirl, checked out Simone’s run on Birds of Prey and really enjoyed it – especially meeting so many (female!) superheroes and villains
15. Birds of Prey, Vol. 4 / Gail Simone
16. Birds of Prey, Vol. 3 / Gail Simone
17. Batgirl, Vol. 2 / Gail Simone: ❤
18. Birds of Prey, Vol. 6 / Gail Simone

j
19-24

…and Fables…

19. Fables, Vol. 5 / Bill Willingham: When Fables doesn’t have a boring story-arc, I love it – unfortunately it goes weird, boring places a lot
20. Fables, Vol. 6 / Bill Willingam
21. Batman: Arkham Asylum / Grant Morrison: I borrowed this from a friend because it’s “a classic”
22. Cinderella, Vol. 1 / Chris Roberson: boring knockoff / huge disappointment
23. Cinderella, Vol. 2 / Chris Roberson
24. Star Trek: The Next Generation / Doctor Who Assimilation 2, Vol. 1 / Scott Tipton: loved this – both for the art and for the writing (Tipton nails each character)

25-30
25-30

…before I discovered a few of my favorites.

25. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 3 / Brian K. Vaughan
26. Saga, Vol. 1 / Brian K. Vaughan: I regularly have text conversations with friends that go “WHY IS SAGA SO GOOOOD!?!?!?!?!” “I KNOW. It’s ruining my life a little..”
27. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 1 / Brian K. Vaughan
28. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 3 / Brian K. Vaughan
29. Once Upon a Time Machine / Andrew Carl: I have mixed feelings about this collection of sci-fi fairy tale comics
30. Saga, Vol. 2 / Brian K. Vaughan: seriously. so. good.

31-36
31-36

This series was getting recommended to me by a lot of people and I was hesitant to read it at first (“All the men die, leaving a world full of women, and the comic’s main character is still a dude? Seriously??”) — but I’m glad I gave in (/they had it at my library) because it’s incredibly good.

31. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 6 / Brian K. Vaughan
32. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 7 / Brian K. Vaughan
33. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 9 / Brian K. Vaughan
34. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 6 / Brian K. Vaughan
35. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 4 / Brian K. Vaughan
36. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 8 / Brian K. Vaughan

37-42
37-42

And more Fables. And then I found vampires.

37. Fables, Vol. 8 / Bill Willingham
38. Dead Until Dark / Charlaine Harris: I bought the first Sookie Stackhouse book for 50 cents at a used book sale – and then I was hooked
39. Fables, Vol. 7 / Bill Willingham
40. Fables, 1001 Nights of Snowfall / Bill Willingham
41. Fables, Vol. 9 / Bill Willingham
42. Y: The Last Man, Vol. 10 / Brian K. Vaughan: a rare case where I [mostly] like the ending

43-48
43-48

#clearly

43. Club Dead / Charlaine Harris
44. Dead as a Doornail / Charlaine Harris
45. All Together Dead / Charlaine Harris
46. Living Dead in Dallas / Charlaine Harris
47. Dead to the World / Charlaine Harris
48. Definitely Dead / Charlaine Harris

49-54
49-54

There are still a few more that will be read in 2014.

49. Dead in the Family / Charlaine Harris
50. The Second Empress / Michelle Moran: please go back to writing about ancient Egypt #kthanksbye
51. Dead and Gone / Charlaine Harris
52. Marion Zimmer Bradley / The World Wreckers: nope
53. A Touch of Dead / Charlaine Harris
54. From Dead to Worse / Charlaine Harris

55-60
55-60

55. The Heroes of Olympus: The Son of Neptune / Rick Riordan: Airport buy / it’s fine, but not as good as the Percy Jackson series
56. Cinder / Marissa Meyer: aka Cyborg Cinderella — I like where the story ended, but not necessarily how it got there (book 2 is on the list for this year)
57. Bright Young Things / Scarlett Thomas: Reality Literature before there was Reality TV
58. The Name of the Wind / Patrick Rothfuss: took me a bit to get into this, but it was so worth it
59. Gone Girl / Gillian Flynn: Airport buy / amazing (another RWAC read)
60. First Meetings in the Enderverse / Orson Scott Card: this got me excited for the movie!!

61-66
61-66

61. City of Glass / Cassandra Clare
62. Redshirts / John Scalzi: fantastic (and not just for Trekkies) – a Sword & Laser pick
63. The Mark of Athena / Rick Riordan: I say it’s not as good and yet I kept reading it…
64. City of Bones / Cassandra Clare: I wanted to read this before the movie came out – and now I’m hooked
65. The Far Time Incident / Neve Maslakovic: my first audiobook! I heard about this through a Goodreads newsletter and the performer I’d seen on Geek & Sundry, so I decided to give it a go
66. Bloodhound / Tamora Pierce: book 2 in the Beka Cooper series

67-70
67-70

67. Wool Omnibus / Hugh Howey: LOVED this book for its creativity and variety of characters (another S&L pick)
68. Divergent / Veronica Roth: WTF no (and yet I think a movie version of this will be good)
69. City of Ashes / Cassandra Clare
70. Shift / Hugh Howey: DID NOT LOVE the sequel – still plan to read book 3

What’s on your list for 2014?

3 thoughts on “Reading FTW”

  1. You are my hero. Congratulations. I always figured a book-a-week was good for me. I guess I will have to step it up to keep up. Keep up the good work. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. Pingback: 36 books – IDK

Leave a Reply

